Posted by: Natalie | March 30, 2012

Hollywood Glam

Seen as this week’s blog posts have been heavily linked to my impending nuptials, I thought it only right to finish the week with one more. One which you can help me with actually! The finer details of my Hen Party are in the hands of my bridesmaids however, there was one particular item on the itinerary I was determined to book. My ladies and I have hired a room at the Electric Cinema in Birmingham. Being the oldest working cinema in the UK with its wonderful, original thirties décor, I thought it was the ideal location to glam up in all our Hollywood finery, drink champagne cocktails and walk the red carpet. An elegant beginning to what will undoubtedly be one of the best nights of my life. And any excuse for a good dress and killer shoes is fine by me!!

The plan is to sip stylish cocktails before (during and after) a classic Hollywood chick flick. I did think a little bit of Audrey might be fitting but people have very different reactions to films like Breakfast and Tiffany’s. Personally, I love it – the sublimely bizarre mixed with the supremely stylish, topped off with a sprinkling of outrageous racism in the form of Mickey Rooney’s Japanese landlord bit. Holly Golightly is a vision, a mythological creature sent to break the hearts of many, but Truman Capote’s work does leave you with a slightly vacant feeling. It is, of sorts, a happy ending, but there is a distinct desperation to much of the film – is this how I want my hens to start their day out? I’m not sure. The outfit choice would be absolutely stunning but as a film choice, possibly something a little more jovial and spirited would be in order.

Which then makes me think of Marilyn. Who can say no to the truly wonderful Some Like it Hot ? To my mind, Monroe at her finest. The slapstick humour of Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon make this a genuinely giggle-out-loud movie and the added silliness of gangsters, just makes it a wonderful romp. A great feel-good film to start off the night. But equally, a little bit of Gentlemen Prefer Blondes would set me up just nicely – but not everyone has the same feeling about musical numbers. Jane Russell is just divine – so much of me wishes I were just a little more like Dorothy Shaw; feisty, fun and regular eater of men for breakfast. So much more stunning than Marilyn in this film, mainly, I think, because the ditsy, gold-digger routine of Lorelei Lee may have done a lot for the negative blonde stereotype. But still very entertaining – and it ends with a wedding! What could be more fitting?!

I have a fondness for classic films, my DVD shelf also contains Bringing Up Baby, Arsenic and Old Lace, Inn of the Sixth Happiness, Robin and the Seven Hoodsand of course An Affair to Remember. Along with my large selection of musicals (ooooo, My Fair Lady or The King and I  might be up for a vote too!), I have quite a few favourites to choose from. But I am not sure if my personal tastes are enough of a recommendation for choosing a group film. If you were to be invited to such an event, what classy Hollywood classic would you choose? What glam movie would be best suited to put cocktail infused ladies in a giddy mood to drink more cocktails? I want something fun and frivolous – so any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Even if its just to bulk out my own collection!

Right, now I’m off to google/ebay suitable shiny outfits!

Responses

  1. Oh wow! You’re getting married 🙂 I have been out of the loop. Congratulations. I hope it’s an awesome party and wish you well 🙂

    • Hey Herb!

      Thank you for the congrats! No loop to be out of really, I’ve been away from here for a while. How are things with you? I hope you’re well – I shall be catching up as much as possible now I’m back to blogging again. I have missed this world very much!! Nxxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

