Posted by: Natalie | October 26, 2011

Hooray for Half Term!

And . . . breathe.

Now that feels a little better. These past seven weeks have been busy. So busy. And I’m guessing that, due to the lack of posting, you’ve noticed. Yup, I am back to working to the point of exhaustion and not having a moment to read for pleasure never mind putting any written thoughts to paper. The stories are gathering dust. But hopefully not for too much longer.

Half term has come upon me with something of a surprise, but just in the nick of time. So far this break Steve has watched me sleep for a remarkable amount of time – not in that weird, ‘I’m watching you’ kind of way, just because I’ve done nothing else. If he blinks he misses the moment I drop from conscious into a sleep induced coma. Having said this, today I feel a little closer to ‘normal’, a little closer to that chilled, content state I have been cultivating these past two years! I also think this has something to do with being back in my Birmingham nest – as boy orientated as it now is (clothing storage seems to have seeped into most rooms) – as sense of life as it should be. It may only have been a matter of weeks but the living apart was really beginning to take its toll. I have a week now, not only to rejuvenate the mind and body, but (with more than a little hint of cliché) the soul as well.

I’ve also brought two books down the M6 with me – not that I think I’ll be able to complete two, but I thought I should give them the chance none the less. I really want to get to grips with Sabriel and read more than the 100 pages I have managed thus far (averaging 12.5 pages a week is just depressing). I think it has really good potential to be one of my favourite teen spooks. But also, shiny and brand spankingly new, is the third in William Hussey’s Witchfinder series, The Last Nightfall. I am a little devastated that this final instalment of my most recent fave author has been out since September and I have still, in nearly November, to turn the first page. I can promise that merely looking at the cover of this book will be not nearly as exciting as reading it contents!

The book pile has continued to grow though, with three Philip Pullman’s, two Robin Jarvis’ and a Philip Reeve piled on top of the other Garth Nix books I have accumulated. Not sure how long it will take me to actually, but if we approximate 250 pages per book at my current reading rate then somewhere between 3 and 4 years! Ok, something has to change here – even if it means stopping the school work at 8.30pm rather than 10pm and actually finding my life again!!

As for today, I am going to get to grips with my Viking unit of work for the next half term (quite excited!!) this morning, then treat myself to a wander into the city this afternoon. I think a long sit in Waterstones and possibly an indulgent hot chocolate may be on the cards!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

