Posted by: Natalie | July 7, 2011

Present!

Everyone loves those little surprises which make us jig on the spot with spontaneous glee. I think what makes them so lovely is the unexpected moment, the thought that you have entered someone else’s consciousness in a happy way. Obviously, there are points in time when surprises are very much expected, birthdays, Christmas, anniversaries – does this negate the ‘surprise’ when unknown gifts are anticipated? It certainly doesn’t make them any less special, but I have to say, I think the little random thoughts of kindness occurring out of the blue are often more memorable, and so much more life affirming!

This morning’s little gem came from a colleague a work, a lovely lady who is one of the few in a school so big with which I have daily contact – and more to the point, conversation! It is an incredibly isolating role which I hold (but only for two more weeks!!) and I often wonder if anyone would realise if I went AWOL for a few days, so these quick corridor chats with someone above the age of seven is wonderfully refreshing and I am grateful everyday for this human contact. It has been a blessing really, and helped immensely on those darker days of pondering my point and purpose in this grand, old place. Miss Whiting was the cause of my little dance this morning as she handed me a new book!! It may not have escaped the notice of regular readers, but I quite like books! Heading straight to the top of the pile, and coming away with me this weekend, is a World Book Night copy of A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. Not a book I have read, or even heard of but I genuinely can’t wait to read it. I think it should be a good follow on from The White Tiger as it also appears to be set in India – may as well keep the educational theme running!

I can’t tell you how stupidly giddy this gift made me – tragic isn’t it! I am almost always more chuffed that someone has seen a book and thought of me (even if Miss Whiting had 40 copies!) than choosing one for myself. I find myself much more enthused by recommendations rather than the incidental books I pick at random from the charity shop shelves. I’m not entirely sure why this is but it probably has something to do with the glittering feeling of warmth and contentment that specifically sparks with those unexpected little gifts that come our way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

