Posted by: Natalie | July 1, 2011

Taste of Summer

Last weekend when we visited Christie, not only did she relieve my reading stresses, but took me well and truly back to my childhood. It is many, many years since I picked berries fresh from a wild growing bush, popping one unwashed and uncaring into my mouth to squeeze out the delicate, lip pursing juices hidden within. I have a foggy recollection of harvesting elderberries and blackberries with my mum, so that should could make wines and jams and pies; a fuzzy view of the blackened finger tips and seeds stuck between my teeth; the smell and warmth of baking which even to this day fills me with comfort right down to my toes. I am aware that this is an Autumnal tradition, but on Saturday all these memories came flooding back to the fore as Christie and I picked raspberries in her garden.

Unfortunately not the ones we picked - I didn't get snap happy before they began to collapse.

Never in my life have I ever seen such quantities of fresh, red fruit and of SUCH a size! They were immense! An amazing mixture of sweet and sour, bleeding ever so slighting to turn my finger nails a rather fetching shade! It was so much fun! While the boys tended the barbecue and supped their beer, I couldn’t think of anything more perfect for a British summer afternoon. Not even the lurking rain which threatened every other moment could ruin the contentment of a rather grown up, suburban life. We picked as much as we could yet leaving some for the birds to treat on, and all told we have two large mixing bowls filled to the brim – to add to the quantities Christie had already pulled in her freezer. As wonderful as she is, the lady of the house gifted one of the portions as a take home gift for Steve and I.

With so many, several methods of use had to thought through before the fruit ruined. Eating alone is always my favourite, but before long it seems, the freshest of raspberries collapse and lose they buoyant shape. With a couple of failed ideas under the belt (the ripening juices caused a few issues with my cheesecake mix) I followed this recipe from BBC Good Food, and I am happy to say it seems some what successful. However, not having the small ramekins suggested I poured all the mixture into one tub. The hard setting of my freezer has made something of a brick, but an hour (yes, a whole hour!) sat out proved enough to take a scoop, and very pleasant eating it was – very much the stuff of not only summer, but a childhood never forgotten.

Raspberry Ice Cream Bombes

  • I didn't freeze individual ones, but one big block - still yummy, it just takes a while to carve into!

    450g raspberries

  • 400ml condensed milk
  • 142ml pot double cream
  1. Whizz 350g raspberries to a pulp in a blender, add the milk and cream and whizz. Add the remaining fruit and pulse once or twice.
  2. Divide the mixture between 6 x 200ml dariole moulds (it won’t fill them up completely) or a 500ml plastic or metal pudding basin and freeze overnight. To unmould, dip in hot water and serve with raspberries.

Nutrition per serving: 359 kcalories, protein 7.1g, carbohydrate 40.91g, fat 19.7 g, saturated fat 11.4g, fibre 1.9g, salt 0.26 g

And it’s as easy as that! Nyom!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

