Posted by: Natalie | February 9, 2011

Happy Blogday!

The Writer Side of Life is one year old today!

This little corner of the blogosphere was created as a journal documenting my attempts to write and be published, along with being a writing tool to start the day afresh. Although I may not be physically closer to seeing my name upon a library shelf, this tool and this page has helped to clarify my thoughts, helped me to see the journey before me and ultimately cement my dreams firmly in place. I may have bored you with my waffling and rants, my complaints about life and work and the weather, but you have no idea what it, and you, have given me in return.

Writing this blog has been the most enjoyable thing I have done in a long time. There is nothing quite like giving yourself a daily opportunity to write and focus on something personal, something that is just about you (vanity, I know). Life is so crammed full with responsibilities, expectations and constraints that we often don’t find those few minutes for ourself, let alone the time to follow our dreams. I have been exceptionally lucky in this; to have had the support of friends and family through all my endeavours, and to have Steve who gave me the confidence in my own abilities. Without these people I couldn’t have taken a step into the unknown. Without this blog and the kind comments of its readers I may have faltered and allowed the internal knocking to take hold and crush the picture of my future I have come to yearn for with an aching passion.

Thank you for staying with me this far, I hope there will be many more posts to come and hopefully a book or two to boot.

Responses

  1. Happy Blog Day !

    I look forward to reading about more of your adventures in the next 12 months.

    take care
    love
    Dad

    • Yey! Glad you finally left me a comment Dad! Thank you, as ever, for reading.
      Nxxx

  2. Congratulations on a year of keeping this blog Natalie šŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to see your name on the library shelf šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

