Posted by: Natalie | November 24, 2010

Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog

Thankfully Mr Davies kept his clothes on throughout the show, just.

No, I have not been doing anything which requires the services of the RSPCA or other such animal rescue organisation. This is in actual fact the title of Greg Davies’ current comedy tour which we saw at Glee on Sunday night. Gregg Davies is the unusually tall comedian playing the Head Teacher in E4’s Inbetweeners and the still unusually tall trio member in We Are Klang. Also described as a fat Rick Mayall or a fat Giles from Buffy, Greg embodies silliness and the pure joy that this brings to our lives.

His current tour goes through his life to date, looking at those singular moments of nonsense that make all the dross life throws at us, worthwhile. Those moments that, no matter how much sadness and heartache may surround you, will never fail to make you laugh and thank the heavens you are alive. I love this sentiment. I love that optimistic look at the world that no matter how bleak, something silly will undoubtedly be hiding around the corner to keep you keeping on. I don’t want to ruin the tour for anyone potentially seeing him – try to catch him if you can, especially if you are a teacher as his own teaching anecdotes are worth the money alone – so I shan’t divulge his own tales, but I am going to attempt to find you my own moments of juvenile bliss.

Ok, these may not be comically genius, but the memories still make me smile;

  • One of my earliest memories of a moment of pure joy was when I was about four. I was definitely in my first year at school, playing outside in the summer sun. To one side of the playground was a grass slope leading down to the field, which when I was four was incredibly steep. We also, for some bizarre reason, had a giant, hollow, red barrel to play with. It was on this day one boy had positioned himself inside said red barrel. In a flash, another boy ran full pelt into the barrel, pushing it away from the playground and down the grass slope at sonic speed, with the first boy still inside! I have no recollection of what happened next, but just this thought alone still has me chuckling away.
  • One of the funniest ‘put downs’ I have ever encountered – and in a moment in which I had no choice but to keep a straight face. While on playground duty a few years ago two incredibly white boys (I use the term not only as an ethnic description but as an attitude) broke into a fight. At the time I was finding school quite hard. The class was tough, the work load unreasonable and what with just moving to the Midlands I wasn’t the most chipper. But then this fight occurred because white boy one had called white boy two a, “Kenyan”. The specific words were, “Urgh. Get off me ya Kenyan!” Brilliant. But it got better. When I asked the ten year old what he thought a Kenyan was, he replied that he believed it to be someone living in Kent! The staffroom loved that one!
  • Seeing my big brother every Christmas morning and the sheer glee on his face because ‘Father Christmas has been’! It is wonderful to see an adult still completely addicted to Christmas and everything wonderful that it entails. A similar smile comes across my face each time he comes to visit and asks if it’s too early to watch A Chrismassy Ted’.
  • My darling Cie had an awful time of it a few years ago. Anyone who reads her blog will know the tale, but the end of a relationship found her up rooting her entire life and more than a little lost. It was winter, cold, dark and miserable, which does not help when one is traumatised. Caroline was staying with us for a little while and I am sure she won’t mind me saying, but she was struggling. It broke my heart to see her this way, to see her so convinced that she had not the strength to get through. No amount of words could have convinced her or made her laugh again. The answer, I found, lay in a box of eggs and one stale French baguette. On the first night when a glimmer of anger (rather than grief) hit her, I dragged Cie out into the cold night air to the garden patio. There I watched while she threw eggs with such force and giggled uncontrollably as they were annihilated. Then came the baguette which was smashed against the old wooden car-port struts. At that moment nothing else existed, the thought and sight of two girls in their 20s standing in slippers in a dark winter garden, making a mess like little children was utterly ridiculous. It was so much fun and in that moment I saw my Cie come through her heartache. In that moment, nothing else mattered.
  • At my Grandmother’s funeral last December. It was such a very sad day, and a weight of loss which I still feel. But there was a moment afterwards when I looked around the Church club and smiled. It was a rare occasion to have my entire family in one room, all talking animatedly and finding  belly laughs from somewhere deep within. Grandma would have been so happy to have us all together like that and to see us finding some enjoyment in the day, despite the grief we felt. It was such a strange feeling but one which will stay with me always.

Feel free to comment with some of your own moments of bliss – either silly or sentimental, but those moments which make all the black clouds obsolete.

I shall leave you where I started today’s post, with Greg Davies. If you have the opportunity to see him live, you must. It is so unique to watch a comic which does not dwell on everything that is cynical and wrong with the world. There is no bitterness in his show, not really, but a celebration of life and the fun that it sometimes tries to hide from us. He is incredibly funny and talented and unusually tall!

(Not the greatest clip I’m afraid, but there is not a huge selection on You Tube. This comes from Mock the Week)

 

Responses

  1. This post made me guffaw out loud (the Kenyan comment) to the extent that I suddenly realised it was midnight and I was likely disturbing the neighbours. Then it made me cry (in a good way) remembering that night and the many others you and Steve somehow saw me through in those dark days. I’m never going to be able to put words to how grateful I am to have you in my life, nor how much I love and appreciate you both for seeing me through that time. Eggs and all! 🙂

    And I’m certain your Grandma was happy to see all her children and grandchildren together, finding something worth laughing at in the face of such sorrow.

    Love you baby xxx

  2. […] been in dark places I’ve been unable to see my way out of, but usually, something – or someone – has come along to help me see the pinprick of light at the end of the tunnel. I can […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

