Posted by: Natalie | November 18, 2010

My Dream Job

This one is easy! Of course Plinky, if I could have any job in the world it would be as a writer of children’s books. There is nothing I want more, although the world seems to be conspiring against me these past few months.

 

To pick my own hours and work to MY schedule would be amazing. To spend my days delving deep into my imagination to create worlds and characters for others to enjoy would be incredible – and to be paid for it, even better! If I had not the need to pay for things and put a car through its MOT (thinking it might fail this December – Eeeek!) I could quite happily while away my hours and days doing this thing that I love so very much. But the further into the school year I go, the further away that dream seems to get. I am already having to think through what I would do next September when my contract ends. My teaching position won’t exist next year due to the change in government, which is fine, but I don’t want to start thinking about another teaching year. I want to write but alternatives seem a little thin on the ground at the moment.

If could, I would like to go back to the routine I formed through the last year; getting up at 7.30 and reading until Steve left for work, blogging and keeping up with the world of fiction and authors for an hour before I set to my work. I would break every so often and complete a small chore or prep our evening meal, but eagerly run back to my pages to create the next instalment. I had more energy, more life and so much more happiness. Happy days and a happy dream that WILL come back to me some day. Now, to make it happen.

Powered by Plinky

Responses

  1. I would`ve loved to be a writer myself 🙂 I understand that longing very much 🙂

  2. You will make it happen Natalie and we’re behind you all the way! 🙂 x

    • Aw you’re so sweet Pete. Thank you. Nxxx

  3. Yes,keep on! 🙂 Someday your wish will come true! 🙂
    And I love your blog by the way! 🙂

    • Thank you so much, that’s incredibly kind of you. Its so wonderful (and bizarre) to think of people enjoying my ramblings, from all over the world. Nxxx

  4. Your dream job sounds divine!


Leave a Reply

Categories

