Posted by: Natalie | November 15, 2010

Fifteen Authors

A quick one today as I am feeling on something of a role (keep your fingers crossed that it keeps on keeping on!). Cie linked me to a Facebook challenge the other day which I had not the time to complete. Then I forgot all about it until now. But I thought, instead of adding to the oodles of friends completing their lists on FB, I would produce mine here.

The idea is, you list fifteen authors (and/or poets) who have inspired and influenced you and will stay with you through life. Authors you immediately fall to and think fondly of which you would happily share with others. Don’t over think it as you have no more than fifteen minutes to compose. Here’s my shot (in no particular order), I would love to know who would be on your list.

  • Jane Austen
  • Roald Dahl
  • Alan Ahlberg
  • Sally Gardner
  • Philip Reeve
  • Daphne Du Maurier
  • Emily Bronte
  • Philip Pullman
  • Steig Larsson
  • Khaled Hosseini
  • William Hussey
  • Dick King-Smith
  • Wilkie Collins
  • Terry Deary
  • J. K. Rowling (sorry to be a cliché, but she’s carved the way for many a budding author!)

Is it concerning that most of mine are children’s authors? Think I am showing up my mental age now! Feel free to add your own lists in the comments, or send me a link to a list on your own blog!

By the way, I currently only have three names in the hat for the Joss Stirling book, Finding Sky. If you want to join the rather empty hat, let me know!

Responses

  1. Okay, here’s mine (in no order)

    1. L. M. Montgomery
    2. Rosamond Lehmann
    3. Emile Zola
    4. Edith Wharton
    5. Sue Townsend
    6. Anne Dunlop
    7. Barbara Pym
    8. Philip Pullman
    9. Antonia White
    10. Neil Gaiman
    11. John Steinbeck
    12. John Wyndham
    13. Charles M Schulz
    14. Dorothy Edwards
    15. C.S Lewis

    • Ok, I think Roisin you win the award for most authors listed I’ve never heard of!!

  2. My list (in no particular order):

    1. Roald Dahl
    2. Jane Austen
    3. Terry Goodkind
    4. Terry Pratchett
    5. Anya Seton
    6. Stephen King
    7. Philip Pullman
    8. Patrick Ness
    9. Sue Townsend
    10. Eric Carle
    11. George Elliot
    12. William Wordsworth
    13. John Donne
    14. Shakespeare
    15. Robin Jarvis

    Funnily enough I recently found out about Scholastic’s You are What You Read where you have to pick 5 books that have influenced you and you can then meet others who share your ‘bookprints’.

    I struggled to only pick five and I didnt pick any plays or poetry, but they have made this list… funny how lists change depending on the day!

    Thanks for the post though, lots of fun to think about!

    • Thanks for the list Kathleen – I’m always fascinated by others’ reading habits!

  3. I have put off doing that challenge, as I am unduly influenced by “what have you done for me lately” syndrome where books/authors are concerned. Ones I have read recently tend to rise to the top, even if they aren’t really as influential as others, you know?

    I should like to enter your Joss Sterling drawing, please. I tried to find the original post to comment there, but no luck, so here is my bid.

    • See, that is a problem I suffer from – I had to really think to remove some of my more recent reads, and still failed!

  4. Here`s my list (in no particular order) 🙂 :

    *Carlos Ruiz Zafon
    *Diane Setterfield
    *Andrè Bjerke (Norwegian writer & poet)
    *Kate Morton
    *Cornelia Funke
    *Charlotte Bronte
    *Sheridan Le Fanu
    *Sarah Waters
    *Edgar Allan Poe
    *Arthur Conan Doyle
    *Roald Dahl
    *J.K.Rowling
    *Sarah Gardner
    *M.R.James
    *Daphne Du Maurier
    *Charles Dickens

    Ok,that`s sixteen 🙂 One too many 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

