Posted by: Natalie | August 9, 2010

Putting Procrastination to Good Use

Days like Friday are happening with terrifying regularity. I’m starting to waste ridiculous amounts of time. I am assuming, rather hopefully, that this is because I feel I am getting to the closing stages of my book – and its hard. Whenever I seem to get to a slight hiccup or a section I am dreading to tackle, I find all manner of things to occupy my time.

Emailing was a big thing for Friday. I emailed A LOT. I also did a lot of wandering again on the internet (I swear some days it is the worst possible invention). But, if I can put some of this procrastinating to good use, I feel it is somehow justified. I know its not, but let me dream! So this post was actually constructed on Friday to alleviate my guilt of not finishing Day 6 of my tale.

It initially began when I fell upon the site The Literary Gift Company. There were so many unique and fun things to view for all lovers of literature. Here are just a couple of little gems of joy (click images for their web pages). . .

Louisa M. Allcott Quote Bag

Little Red Riding Hood Pendant and Chain

But this pendant put me in mind of a post I wrote way back when, Alice. Again! This was around the time Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland hit the cinemas and Β trawled Etsy to find glorious treats in honour of this Literature Legend. So, I took to Etsy again, looking for Literature gifts that could provide inspiration for others. Here are some that appeal to me . . .

Digital Download Witch's Daybook and Stationary Maker

Alice in Wonderland Bottlecap Magnets

Pride and Prejudice Book Ends / Shelf Pillows

Vintage Magnifying Glass Pendant (Love this!!!)

White Rabbit Pendant/Pin Watch. Absolutely stunning!

But then, I was struck by the Pride and Prejudice quote, “Obstinate, headstrong girl!” (from something I saw) which led me to Zazzle and these few bits and bobs . . .

Just one way of printing the text - but take your pick of what you would like!

"You take delight in vexing me" mug

Books! On a shoe!!

But, my personal fave of the day was found at Cafe Press Shop . . .

Perfect!

So, that was my happy trawling! I am sure between now and the season of goodwill I will undoubtedly share more posts like this in an attempt to make your seasonal shopping experiences more pleasurable!!

Right, Monday means work. Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. I want all of those. Great window-shopping haul my sweet! πŸ˜€ xx

    • Trying desperately not to ‘window shop’ today, or in fact spend money (fictional or otherwise) on anything. Must use time productively!

  2. Yikes, I want to buy everything. That tote bag is the best. I need a poster of the last one, not a notebook.

    • I really want the tote bag too! Aren’t they fab?! Oh, and the mad woman note pad, I believe you can also get as a poster! It would work really well in my study!

      It doesn’t hurt to look I guess, just wished I had a few spare pennies to spoil myself!

      Thanks for the comment,

      Nat x

  3. Such sweet things!

    • I could spend far too much time finding such pretties – I wonder if I could make it a profession?!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Nat x

  4. That tote bag is so awesome. My friend would absolutely love it!

    moviesaccordingtodes.wordpress.com

    • I love it too! If I get my word count up this week, I could be tempted to splash out and buy myself one! It was this bag that caused me to spend far too many hours internet ‘window shopping’ last week – a very dangerous hobby!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Nat x

  5. Procrastinating is a writer’s prerogative. Thanks for doing a little bit of mine for me! I am in love with the magnifying glass pendant- must avoid working and writing by purchasing it. Great post!

    • Aw, thank you so much for the kind comment! And I am so pleased that I am now the cause of someone else’s distraction! Finally my time wasting has a place in the world!

      Thanks for stopping by, hope the magnifying glass is as stunning as it looks!

      Nat x

  6. I would happily dump a big wad of cash on those items, if I had not already spent said amount on books for my shiny new e-reader. >.< Great post though.

    • Ah see, I don’t have that excuse tempting me even further to getting out the cash card! No, I must resist! At least until tomorrow.

      Thanks for the comment, pleased I could share a little around!

      Natalie x

  7. Sigh…I want all!!! With finds like that, I would say, time well spent – they are after all literary things πŸ˜‰ Great post πŸ™‚ Good luck with the writing!

    • Thank you for the comment – and for making me feel better about doing pretty much nothing last week! Would be wonderful to have a completely random spending spree on such like goodies wouldn’t it?!

      Let me know if you succumb to the temptation!

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Natalie x

  8. I am 55 but I could have happily shopped for all of the above items. I teach kids as young as 3 English through play i.e. I read to them and guess I am a kid at heart too….haven’t really grown up.
    Nice reading

    • I think age is such an irrelevant thing when it comes to literature and associated fun things! I still love flicking through picture books whenever I pass them in a shop (or on my own shelf). And I truly believe there are few things more enjoyable than wasting a day in the children’s book department! I hope I never grow out of it!!

      Thank you for the comment, glad you liked the post!

      Natalie x

  9. I like the pendant the best. If you can’t justify splashing out on some literary jewellery you can make your own by cutting up the pages of an old book into small circles (or hearts or stars or triangles), laminating them and punching holes in them so that they can be threaded onto a metal chain. I have a bracelet made from the pages of Rebecca which is full of sinister descriptions. My sister has a matching bracelet made from pages from Pride & Prejudice so hers is all about dances and tea parties and trips to the parsonage.

    • What a wonderful, and simple idea! And Rebecca is one of my all time favourite books. Think I will give this a go, even though I might make a pigs ear of it though! Could use the copy of Handmaids Tale that I have which is literally dropping to pieces – certainly a good way of ‘recycling’ those old faves.

      Thanks for the tip!

      Natalie x

  10. I’m an obstinate, headstrong girl myself. Thanks for the fun bits.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

    • Every good girl should be!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Natalie x

  11. Great items. I also find myself easily distracted and happily discovering all sorts of things online when I should be focused on job searching. I need job search “parental” controls on my laptop! lol

    Thanks for sharing!

    • I think you might have just hit on a wonderful idea there! Get in touch with Microsoft – could make you millions! Then you can browse the internet guilt free!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Natalie x

  12. […] Days like Friday are happening with terrifying regularity. I'm starting to waste ridiculous amounts of time. I am assuming, rather hopefully, that this is because I feel I am getting to the closing stages of my book – and its hard. Whenever I seem to get to a slight hiccup or a section I am dreading to tackle, I find all manner of things to occupy my time. Emailing was a big thing for Friday. I emailed A LOT. I also did a lot of wandering again o … Read More […]

  13. I think the mug must be mine! I’ll spend my hours procrastinating reading all these wonderful blogs I follow. Glad to have stumbled upon yours.

    • That’s really kind of you to say – just glad I could be of service to so many fellow procrastinators! I to need the mug – but mainly so I can thrust it at my boyfriend for just those occasions when I am feeling very ‘Mrs Bennett’!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  14. I love every item you highlighted; they are all going on my Christmas list. I’m currently reading Pride and Prejudice for the first time (bad English major, I know!), and I really think I NEED those pillows. And how fantastic is Zazzle?

    Thanks for adding to my procrastination time!

    • I wouldn’t worry, it took me until late in my 20’s to pick it up myself! I had previously contented myself with the BBC adaptation! I think the pillows are fab – just wish they were bigger to put on my sofa!

      Glad I could help be a distraction!

      Natalie x

  15. its too creative !!

  16. Love the bookends! My books are all kept in drawers, and it would be nice to have something to hold them to display my collection.

    • That sounds like a necessary investment to me! I’d like to think I would be able to make something similar, but I doubt I could find such wonderful fabric!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  17. That last one especially cracks me up!

    • Just for those days when that’s exactly how I feel!! I need to get myself one for definite!

      Natalie x

  18. Wow! Those things would make great gifts for a girl like me! I feel kin to you…I too am a writer at heart and a procrastinator.

    • I love the fact that there are so many ‘unusual’ literary based gifts out there now – when I left work to try and write full time I was determined that my leaving gift wasn’t a pen. If only they could have looked at some of these beauties first!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Nat x

  19. Right now I’m trying to write a simple blog post and came to your blog to procrastinate, so I feel you on that, but now I want all of those items.

    • Apologies. The world of blogs is a dangerous place for people trying to focus, I know. It should come with a health warning!

      Thank you though for stopping by! Hope I have been a happy distraction!

      Natalie x

  20. I started writing a book back in 1999. I finished chapter one. That’s about as far as I got. Thank goodness most literary type’s procrastination lasts for much shorter periods of time than my own…lest we never have anything new to read!

    What a lovely distraction for the noon hour… πŸ™‚

    • That is quite an impressive length of time to be wasting there! Well done! I aspire to such things myself although this pesky need to ‘have a job’ etc keeps getting in the way! Writing in general for me is procrastination itself, I’m trying to avoid being a proper grown up!

      Thanks for the comment, feel free to stop by for distraction any time!

      Natalie x

  21. love the madwoman in the attic one!

    • I think it may be me! On today’s efforts anyway!

      Natalie x

  22. hehe Procrastination…i’m procrastinating as I speak….er….write xD supposed to be typing short story….

    • I think you can call it a day – have a browse, a brew and a biccie. Go on, treat yourself after all, there’s only one Monday in a week!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Natalie x

  23. The Alcott quote is great, especially considering the subject of this post.

    • It’s one of my favourite quotes – it is a perfect description of so many people I know (myself included!). Would love to own that bag!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  24. I arrived here as a result of my own trawling, and what a bit of serendipity it was! I’m looking to start my own blog, and here my research has been hijacked by the discovery of a kindred spirit. Your links are fabulous – I can’t wait to check out the goods. And my college student/aspiring writer daughter will be delighted as well when I send her the link.

    Not only love of books and all things literary, but we suffer from the same disease! I swear Procrastination Island is getting more crowded all the time. You are officially bookmarked; I plan to linger often!

    • What a lovely message for me to get! Thank you so much – glad you liked the post and looking forward to sharing more random ramblings with you in the future!

      Let me know when you get your blog up and running!

      Natalie x

  25. Stumbled across your site. What a delightful mishap. Thanks you for sharing the treasures your wasted time uncovered. Back to writing for all. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh, don’t make me!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  26. Hi Natalie! I’m from Brazil and just found your blog. I didn’t know about The Literary Gift Compnay, so thanks for posting.
    And good lukc with your book!

    • You are more than welcome – thank you for reading and for the luck, it will most certainly be needed!

      Natalie x

  27. You see, Procrastination can bring about Good Things!! =oD

    • And being broke means I can do this kind of window shopping often, without a massive sense of guilt!

      Thank you for the comment!

      Natalie x

      • LOL! I can SOOOOO Empathize!

  28. I like the journal. Thanks for sharing the link!

    • You’re welcome.

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  29. I would love the vintage magnifying glass pendant, or the white rabbit pin. Both are so neat.

  30. Thanks for the excuse to procrastinate by reading your blog! I am happily avoiding working on my cookbook project! Love the Austen quotes, especially, “You take delight in vexing me….”

  31. I’ll play Devil’s Advocate….perhaps “procrastination” is your Divine Self telling you that NOW is not the time to do whatever it is you think you “should” be doing. Sometimes…procrastination is a gift in disguise. Now then…doncha feel better? (grin)

    • I do! Thank you so much! But the problem is, I may now never get the book finished! I think the internet may have been created by the devil!

      thank you for the comment, it really made me smile!

      Natalie x

  32. Oh I love all that stuff. I had a cheshire cat coffee mug that when hot liquid was added the body disappeared leaving only the smile. It was my favorite.
    On to more of your blog!
    Thanks for the fun.
    Erica

    • WOW!!!! I need to get me one of those! How fantastic! You have no idea how genuinely jealous I am right now! *shakes fist*

      Thanks for reading, hope you like my ramblings!

      Nat x

  33. Dearest,

    this is all so true.

    I am also a writer, a Brazilian one. And it is so incredible how I just can not finish my new book because of many other things that keep pulling in the way…

    The almost worst part is that my body – besides my soul – claims the end… ThatΒ΄s why I love writers, not only myself… πŸ˜›

    Lots of kisses,

    Chris Sevla

  34. Thank you for sharing the wonderful writer’s paraphernailia – I agree with most, a poster of the last one would suffix in my office, although, I do not profess to be crazy, I am a writer… lol

    Something every day keeps me on track and working with a like-minded group on a special project (our novels from 2009 NaNoWriMo) keeps them on the deadlines we set for ourselves. They (the novels) are out now testing the publishing waters… πŸ™‚

    Have a great day and keep on writing!

    • That sounds like a fabulous idea! How to keep one another motivated! My motivation tends to come from the fact that all my new story ideas keep flooding into the piles of notebooks and I get excited about the prospect of starting them. But the downside is, it does make me feel a little overwhelmed at times.

      Thanks for the comment and lots of luck with the writing!

      Natalie x

  35. Love the magnifying glass pendant!

    • I think it would look fab over a plain vintage frock – almost something Victorian looking. Beautiful isn’t it!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  36. Gosh, lots of nice things! I have bookmarked the site. Thanks for sharing it and good luck with your writing!

    • Thank you!

      Natalie x

  37. I know several people who could use the tote bag, the t-shirt and the notebook. Actually, it’s pretty much the SAME people…. And, yes, I’m one of them.

    • So many people have said the same – I think I should be asking the webiste for commission! Think they might ignore me!

      Thanks for reading,

      Natalie x

  38. I love Etsy! You can find so many “treasures” there!!

    I also love your header picture of the bookshelf and dolls. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thank you. That’s some of my actual kids book shelves in my study/office. In fact, there is only one adults shelf in that room – the rest is devoted to my kids lit obsession!

      Thanks for reading,

      Natalie x

  39. Thanks for all the links! So awesome!

    • You’re welcome!

      Natalie x

  40. Great post! I want everything there! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!
    http://www.erinspens.wordpress.com

  41. https://thewritersideoflife.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/putting-procrastination-to-good-use/

  42. Great post and great blog! I love the notebook – I WANT the notebook. I’m a primary school teacher too and have procrastinated for most of the summer holidays – when I should have been getting on with the novel. The house is clean and the garden is tidy – but very few words have been added to the masterpiece.

    Thanks for letting me see I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

    Anne

    • Actually, I think all school teachers NEED that note book for those days when that extra piece of bureaucratic nonsense sends us over the edge! It could then be used in a white flag situation to warn others that tea and chocolate biscuits are in desperate need!

      Thanks for stopping by, and lots of luck with the book!

      Natalie x

  43. I love the Jane Austen quote. In fact, anyone who has a daughter will recognise it immediately with a fond (if somewhat forced!) smile!

    • I suspect my mum would agree with you!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Natalie x

  44. Ah, now I know where my paycheck is going.

    Fabulous post!

    • I can only apologise to you and all these other lovely people who may be bankrupt by this time tomorrow. I only hope these pretties are just that when they reach your hands!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  45. You’re using your procrastination productively! There is nothing wrong with that! Just don’t loose sight of the main goal!
    I’ve written an article on what is referred to as ‘productive procrastination’ you might want to read to feel better and get motivation!
    http://www.exerciseandmind.com/procrastination.php

    • Ah, thank you – will take a look!

      Thanks for reading,

      Natalie x

  46. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing! As Ralph Waldo Emerson said:

    “Rings and other jewels are not gifts, but apologies for gifts. The only gift is a portion of thyself.”

    Love this gift idea! It’s always enriching to share a part of yourself with someone else.

    • I love that quote – I am keeping it! Its one to use on the bloke!!

      Thanks for stopping by, and for sharing!

      Natalie x

  47. WHY can`t i get these things in Norway?!!! WHY!!! I want it all πŸ™‚

    • Oh no! Poor thing! Well, if there is anything you desperately want, get in touch via the contact page and I am sure we can sort something out! Paypal accounts are magical things!

      Natalie x

  48. I love the journal cover. I would love it more as a whiteboard. To do: replace yellow wallpaper, fill in rubbed areas of plaster, buy knee pads…

  49. “also did a lot of wandering again on the internet (I swear some days it is the worst possible invention).”

    I know, right? It’s right up there with ice cream. Good luck with the final touches on your book! I think the finishing end of projects does take an amazing amount of willpower and determination. You can do it!

    Those bottlecap magnets are my favorites. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the encouragement – much appreciated!

      Natalie x

  50. Thanks for the pointer to the Literary Gift Company. (It feels odd saying that about a link to a commercial company – but there you go – it’s fun.)
    As for your predicament – jelly babies? Would they help keep you at your desk?
    Or leaning way back and putting your feet on the desk, the better to contemplate your your closing stages.
    They work – sometimes – for me.
    http://www.blackwatertown.wordpress.com

    • I like your style!! I’m thinking the jelly babies might work in that if eaten in a large enough quantity they would wedge me in my chair! Thus forcing me to stay at the desk until I had written enough to burn the required ‘wriggle room’ calories. Or am I thinking about this in too much detail?!

      Thanks for the tips!!

      Natalie x

  51. stumbled on your blog and am a huge fan already! πŸ˜€

    • aw how kind! Thank you!

      Natalie x

  52. […] Days like Friday are happening with terrifying regularity. I'm starting to waste ridiculous amounts of time. I am assuming, rather hopefully, that this is because I feel I am getting to the closing stages of my book – and its hard. Whenever I seem to get to a slight hiccup or a section I am dreading to tackle, I find all manner of things to occupy my time. Emailing was a big thing for Friday. I emailed A LOT. I also did a lot of wandering again o … Read More […]

  53. I love your post! What you call procasination…I call inspiration.

    Thanks for the fabulous gift ideas.

    Now I need to get back to work to afford any of them.

    Have productive writing day!

  54. OMG… Want, want, want. And want for my friend. I am so bookmarking this post for Christmas reference. Thank you!

    • You are more than welcome! I will be emailing my own post to the Christmas Elves I think!

      Thank you for reading!

      Natalie x

  55. Now there you go… you made “Freshly Pressed” and have had to spend how many days replying to comments? You really ARE a writing saboteur (or whatever the feminine form of that word is).

    My husband loves it when I’m on a deadline, ‘cuz I clean, cook, everything else I normally put off…

    Good to read everyone’s comments and be reminded that I’m not the only one out there… we writers are a different breed!

    Love the tote bag and the notebook, LOVE the post! Congrats, girl!
    http://megidio.wordpress.com

    • Heehee! That is probably what I would have done anyway, but now doesn’t count. Technically, I am supposed to be asleep right now, but muggy weather makes me more a night owl. And I refuse to ‘work’ at night!! So, I am loving all the attention my blog has suddenly got!! It’ll only happen the once, might as well make the most of it!

      Thanks for reading, and for the comment,

      Take care!

      Natalie x

  56. Awesome finds! πŸ™‚ I can’t decide which is my favorite…I think the tote, t-shirt and coffee mug are currently vying for first place. Thanks for sharing!

  57. I agree that the notebook is the best of all–but that tote bag is killer too! Way to make the most of procrastination!

    • What we all need now is that tote bag containing the note book! It is certainly going on my christmas list!

      Natalie x

  58. Love the post and love all the products you found! I’ll definitely be spending some time looking through those websites. :o)

  59. I wouldn’t say you were procrastinating per se…you did get something done just not what you had planned. πŸ˜€ (Can you tell I’m a habitual procrastinator?)
    I’m a huge fan of books and I loved all your finds. I want them all!! Just waiting for payday!

  60. Loved your article. Enjoyed the pics and look forward to procrastination like that…

  61. Isn’t Etsy fantastic? That journal is perfect and I love the Witches Daybook! You say procrastination, I say gathering inspiration and creativity. Good luck with the last bits of your book and let us know when it’s complete. There are many of us who’d love to read it. πŸ™‚

    • Aw thank you – that has actually given me quite the encouragement this morning! Just what I need – especially as the milk is sour and I can’t make tea!!

      Natalie x

  62. OH how i want one!!! of everything!!!!

    Thankyou muchly!!

  63. Thanks for the ideas! I am a “wild-eyed bibliomaniac” as my reusable Half Price Books bag states. I will copy the link and send it to my hubby for hints. πŸ˜‰

    • Aw, thanks Melanie – hope he spoils you rotten!!

      Natalie x

  64. Yes, your procrastination was so successful you have the rest of us reading your site & also going to the Literary Gift site!!!

    Hooray for the rest of us, but, as for you……
    Get to work on that book!
    πŸ˜‰

    • Yes Ma’am! I am planning on it, right now though I am so over excited about being freshly pressed, I am determined to read all these wonderful comments and meet you lovely people. Really has made me feel like my waste of time now has a purpose – a very dangerous place to be!!

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      Natalie x

  65. Cool! Who says “Never again”? I’ll be back..
    One of my writing partners was so concerned about his procrastination, he made appointments with a hypnotherapist to sort it out. And yes, I mean “appointments” because he kept putting them off…Sad but true. Let me add my congratulations and wish you all the best for the future.

    • Thank you for your kind comment! And maybe find your friend some ‘alternative therapy’ – a ‘good talking to’ or a swift slap could do it!! Good to know though I am not the only one who suffers deeply from the affliction – just not quite that deeply!!

      Thanks for making me giggle this morning!

      Natalie x

  66. I find the best way to put procrastination to good use is to label it “research.” No matter what I’m looking at while wandering the Web, I can tell myself it will be useful reference material at some point in the future, for some project. And e-mail? That’s “networking.” The value speaks for itself.

    • Brilliant! See, al this time I never knew that I was ‘researching’ – how wonderful, it’s like studying a degree all over again! Can you do a degree in random internet stumbling?

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Natalie x

  67. ” If I can put some of this procrastinating to good use, I feel it is somehow justified.”

    Absolutely, a great line which I will most likely remember for future use.

    I completely do the exact same thing with the “trawling” of the internet. I thought I was alone. Hell, I can’t even finishing reading a Wikipedia article because I keep clicking the links for more interesting articles that I can’t complete either. LOL!

    • I think we could blame this form of ‘researching’ for the rise of Attention Deficit Disorder! No one can concentrate on anything longer than a few minutes anymore, damn internet! Makes for a lovely afternoon though!

      Thanks for the comment, and feel free to steal the line! It is so true for so many!

      Natalie x

  68. […] Days like Friday are happening with terrifying regularity. I'm starting to waste ridiculous amounts of time. I am assuming, rather hopefully, that this is because I feel I am getting to the closing stages of my book – and its hard. Whenever I seem to get to a slight hiccup or a section I am dreading to tackle, I find all manner of things to occupy my time. Emailing was a big thing for Friday. I emailed A LOT. I also did a lot of wandering again o … Read More […]

  69. Mmmm, I want these, that’s why I stopped shopping around on Etsy because there were too many things that I wanted and I liked and it was too dangerous.

    And don’t feel too bad, it’s hard to concentrate on writing sometimes and you just gotta let it come to you and not force it.

    • I think that’s a really good lesson I am still struggling to learn! Because I left my profession to try this, I feel most days as if I HAVE to add something to the book otherwise I am contributing nothing! But, you are so right, there’s no point forcing it because resentment sets in!

      Still loving my time! Thank you for reading!

      Natalie x

  70. VERY cool window-shop finds!!

    http://sociosound.wordpress.com

  71. I absolutely love those shoes! and the shirt, and all of it! πŸ™‚
    I like your blog, i’m going to try to follow it more often:)

  72. Procrastination is a wonderful thing, it fills the time until we are ready to create..

    Thank goodness for procrastination, because at the end of it you do your best..

    x

  73. I love etsy and cafe press. I can waste hours on the internet. It is a bad habit of mine. I am a big procrastinator.

  74. Wow! The Literary gift idea is really mind blowing. I quite like the fact that we both like reading – writing stuff and are teachers too…!

  75. Such wonderful things you found! I love them! (and want all of them!) I can relate to you, I also spent a lot of time procrastinating unfortunately 😦 And I agree, sometimes the closer you are to having it finished (whatever you’re working at the moment), the more you procrastinate! Specially if what you’re doing next isn’t completely sketch out in your mind (for me at least!) Hope this week you get a lot of work done πŸ˜‰

    • But its far too easy to do so at the moment – particularly with all these lovely comments! Thank you so much for reading.

      Natalie x

  76. One of my friends borrowed a book on beating procrastination from the library. She had to borrow it three times as she kept putting off reading it. Nice blog and now following The Literary Gift Company on Twitter. (You should ask for commission?)

    • That would be lovely wouldn’t it!! Think I’d just settle for a tote bag!! Ah, we can all dream!

      Thanks for the comment,

      Natalie x

  77. Oh how lovely – I must have every single one of these objects! If only I trusted technology enough to send my credit card details over the internet. And if only I earned enough money to actually have a balance in my credit account….

    Thanks for this post. I will forward it on to everyone I know come my 33rd birthday (the cat in particular owes me a particularly lavish gift this year. I was completely unimpressed with the dead lizard she gave me last time. )And good luck with the book!

    • You have just made me giggle out loud! Shame on the cat for not thinking ahead! Most definitely needs to make amends this year!

      Thank you for reading – hope the birthday fairies bring you lots of nice things!!

      Natalie x

  78. What a cool post. I love the notebook & now am going to spend many distracted hours looking at babygrows with literary quotes on them!

    • That’s why Zazzle is so awesome – you can design your own with your very favourite literary quotes!! I sound like a saleswoman don’t I! Think I will demanding a share in profits!!

      Natalie x

  79. If it wasn’t for the fact that you can’t get money into your Paypal account other than from your own bank account (and also because i’m broke), i would’ve bought some of these! Especially the coffee mug! Love, love love Pride and Prejudice. Lol

  80. Another stumble here, those items are fabulous and I’m going to check out the website now. Good luck with your writing!

    Alayne
    http://www.rozlynpress.com

  81. I love the pride and prejudice book pillows! Thanks for sharing!

  82. Great gift ideas. I like the journal at the bottom. I could do some serious damage with a credit card lol. I also love your blog header. πŸ™‚

    • I’m secretly quite proud of my blog header – its just one of the many shelves in my study dedicated to kids books! And I made the winged monkeys myself! Well, in that I stuck vampire bats on the back of the monkeys!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  83. The bag says exactly what my mom keeps telling me, except for the fact that it’s he/his instead of she/her. Interesting post!

    Cheers! πŸ˜€

  84. I love your post. For all the good pics that you have posted for all the readers to see, I was delighted to say the least..
    Who would have thought that there could be Books on the Shoes..
    All the Best with your Writing..
    Congratulations..

    • I KNOW! Marvellous isn’t it! And they had varying styles of book-shoes too! Not sure they would go with my current wardrobe, but I am sure I could fix that!

      Thanks for reading!

      Natalie x

  85. I know what you mean about Fridays coming around too fast. I feel I haven’t really done anything all year and it’s already August. Perhaps, it’s because I surf the web too much.

    Love the madwoman in the attic notebook.

  86. I enjoy the pictures on your blog – and love the literary ancillaries! Thank you! Paulette J.

  87. Brilliant post, Natalie…well worthy of freshly pressed. Congrats & best of luck with your book! Also love your header πŸ™‚

  88. It is so nice to know I am not the only one who feels they must troll in the web when a particular scene or idea struggles to fall into place. But hey it keeps you from grazing in the kitchen and nailing your diet to the wall! Good Luck!

  89. Ha, laughed my head off at this. As a writer it’s SO easy to be tempted…

  90. I too struggle with procrastination. I am a course-writer & a editor and sometimes it’s just so difficult to focus. Maybe you will like this message that my Mum shared with me yesterday:

    “Sometimes distraction acts like a little pearl”

    PS: Just discovered your blog and already I love it.

    • Aw bless your Mum – I will remember that myself! My Mum always says its there to give your time to formulate a plan! Not sure what plan my brain has been formulating lately, but I do finally feel ready to take the final leap with my book!

      Thank you for the comment, and so pleased you like my blog! Feel free to stop by for a witter and a procrastinate any time!

      Natalie x

  91. You write books, eh?
    Great!
    I have always wanted to be a teacher, but I amn’t one. I respect people who teach. Very cool post.
    I want to read that book too

  92. I also find the internet to be something of a killer in terms of eating up time, and provoking a sense of guilt. It’s nice to see that your trail yielded some interesting finds today!

  93. great post Natalie.
    Love the totebag but if I could choose only one, I’d pick the notebook. Simply because I need one when I write from work.

    Working full time outside the home limits my writing time. I’m very fortunate, however to have a boss who lets me write during downtime. So note books are essential for me.

    Blessings,

    Renee-Ann
    http://www.reneeann.wordpress.com

    • Hi Renee-Ann,

      Thank you for commenting! I think you should definitely treat yourself to the notebook, sounds like it would have a happy home!

      Natalie x

  94. […] The busiest day of the year was August 9th with 3,203 views. The most popular post that day was Putting Procrastination to Good Use. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

