Posted by: Natalie | July 26, 2010

Today I Write Like . . .

According to my new favourite silly internet tool, I Write Like, today I apparently write like Kurt Vonnegut. Now, I did have to Google this author as I have never heard of him. Apparently this is a bad thing as according to Wikipedia (the centre for dubious random knowledge) he is “considered one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century.” Excellent! I can live with that!

However, I am currently writing a scene of juvenile over excitement following the relief that both my major characters have survived the battle at Wigan (as well as escaping the Mad Monk and his rather scary flame throwing antics) – clearly including historical context and some flamboyant ‘dallying’ about. So, not quite sure how it fits the following criteria for being Vonnegut-like . . .

American novelist who wrote works blending satire, black comedy, and science fiction, such as Slaughterhouse-Five (1969).

Maybe what I need to learn from the day is not to whole heartedly trust either Wikipedia or randomly bizarre internet tools. Hmmmm. But where would be the fun in that?!

Responses

  1. Apparently, I write like Cory Doctorow ( I had to Google – apparently he is a Canadian blogger, journalist and Sci-Fi writer! This is going from my last baby update on my blog!

    • Excellent! I am sure you will agree, now we can both sleep easily knowing these crucial pieces of information about ourselves! So silly! But at least we are getting to Google some new authors, maybe one day we’ll Google one of actual interest!
      Hope you, bump and hubby are well chick,

      Nxxx

  2. I write like Stephenie Meyer. I have to say… That is the biggest insult and the most frightening thing I have ever had the displeasure of reading. God help me.

    • Oh dear. You poor thing! Well, it made her millions, I’m sure – so there’s a motivation in that!!

      Thanks for sharing,

      Natalie x


Leave a Reply

Categories

