Posted by: Natalie | July 23, 2010

The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner and Dominic West!

Ok, so this information has been out in the world since December last year, but I don’t care – I have just come across it and I am very excited!!

We should hopefully, by now, all know of my regard for Sally Gardner, in that she is my ultimate inspiration. Her wonderful French Revolution based swashbuckling adventures are everything I hope my own children’s work to be; exciting, enticing, dark and magical. I have written most recently about the incredible Silver Blade which is a truly magnificent adventure, with some of the most sinister creations in contemporary children’s fiction.

Well, The Red Necklace along with the potential rights to The Silver Blade have been bought for film and TV! Huzzah!!! And, even better – they have been bought by Dominic West and co.!

Come on, hands up – who’s secretly (or maybe not so secretly) completely in love with him?! The charming, charismatic quintessential English gent who portrayed the enigmatic and incorrigible Jimmy McNulty in The Wire? I actually remember him fondly from Michelle Pfeiffer’s version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, where a bare bum (and more) can been seen! I feel a swoon coming on!

Anyway, this is all by-the-by, we are discussing children’s fiction! Yes, according to industry Buzz (and er . . . Sally Gardner’s Blog) he has bought the rights and along with his production company White Soup is actually going to turn these wonderful books into screen delights. I am hoping with his obvious charm and wit (he was brilliant on Have I Got News For You) he can do justice to the incredible words of the great Ms Gardner. It is not a light undertaking and I sincerely hope he appreciates this.

Looking forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

Categories

