Posted by: Natalie | April 14, 2010

Quotes

When reading a book, I very rarely come across a line or quote that really holds weight. I enjoy the whole tale that is to be told, and often ‘forget’ or don’t even notice those singular lines of excellence. This morning was different.

As I have already mentioned, I am currently reading The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. It very nearly got ditched as dross as it took me three days to try and understand the first 20 pages. Determined to not be defeated, I skipped beyond the ‘introductory’ passages (I never do this!) to begin the story proper. I still have no idea what those first 20 pages were rattling on about and I have less of a clue as to its bearing on the story thus far (possibly because I have neither really started or finished the book – might have something to do with it!). I am glad  continued, its a good-old-fashioned tales of forbidden love in a Puritan world, but I am not finding it the easiest to digest. The wording is of a different nature to our own British classic, the Austins and Brontes for example. I think because it is set in the American world of the 19th Century ‘romance’, the language is used differently and this unpractised eye struggles to comprehend it in places. But nevertheless, I read on.

But this morning, while devouring a beautifully written passage about sunlight dancing through the branches of a dark wood, my own stream of sunlight hit upon a few perfectly written lines. I was struck by a quote! What is significant about this is, on two previous occasions I have been looking for ‘romantic’ quotes and notions for another’s wedding, and failed miserably. Love is often described in clichés and cringing tones but now, and forever more, I have found a line that describes the essence perfectly.

Love, whether newly-born, or aroused from a death-like slumber, must always create sunshine, filling the heart so full of radiance, that it overflows upon the outward world.

So very true.

Responses

  1. […] previous post on mine about “Quotes” and shining examples of brilliant writing is about as positive I can be about this book. I am […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

