Posted by: Natalie | April 12, 2010

The Book Pile

Everyone has a book pile – if they don’t then I believe there is something a little lacking in their lives! Or maybe the fact that mine is so large means there is something lacking in mine?! I trust in the first statement. I am happy to be a lover of literature. My book pile, however, was somewhat scattered. I was aware that on several shelves in our house lurked an untouched book, pages I wanted to read but I had forgotten about or simply ‘not got around to’ yet.

I also knew that this scattered arrangement was going to be added to with my newly compiled list of recommendations (courtesy of you, kind readers) as well as dipping into the wealth of Steve-orientated fiction that I had never previously contemplated. So, I decided to rectify the issue. I only got as far as dipping into the bedroom shelves and this is what my pile looks like at the moment (In no particular order):

I think I need a new shelf.

  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Chocolat by Joanna Harris
  • Country of the Blind by Christopher Brookmyer
  • A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson (mainly because it was £1 and I suspect I will want to read another once I get my mitts on Dragon Tattoo)
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles
  • Tales of Mystery and Imagination by Edgar Allen Poe
  • The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
  • The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  • Shakespeare by Bill Bryson
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • The 13 ½ Lives of Captain Bluebear by Walter Moers
  • And 8 Daphne Du Maurier books!

Some of the above books are from the recommendations list. Below are those I have been suggested by readers:

Helen:

  • The Water Horse by Julia Gregson – kindly donated and soon to join the pile. Apparently this is nothing to do with a similarly titled film, but having no knowledge of either, I am looking forward to giving it a go!

Christie @ Mad Yankee

  • The Historian & We Need to Talk About Kevin – both added to the pile over the Easter weekend!

Lauren @ A Typical Atypical

  • The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson – still hunting!
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns – on the pile!

Caroline @ Second Hand Shopper

  • I, Coriander by Sally Gardner – Book mooched baby!
  • The Silver Blade
  • The Book Thief
  • The Little Stranger

Roisin @ Dolly Clackett

  • Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann
  • The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith – Book Mooched!
  • Ripley Underground by Patricia Highsmith
  • Ripley’s Game by Patricia Highsmith

Becky @ Becky Levine

  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Claire

  • The Believers by Zoe Heller

Deidre

  • What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn

If we add to that my current read, The Scarlet Letter (I persevered) I think I may have enough to keep me going until next summer’s holiday!! Better get reading!

Responses

  1. […] I love the Wizard of Oz. I always have. Its the perfect dream-away story for little girls (let’s not mention the mind-numbingly terrifying Return to Oz though). So what has made me write about it today? Maybe because I have been watching BBC 1’s search for Dorothy? Or maybe because I have been thinking about my Cie and her “Ruby Shoesday” endeavour (she plans to wear red shoes every Tuesday!)? Or, it might have more to do with the fact that I remembered another book to add to yesterday’s Book Pile! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

