Posted by: Natalie | March 23, 2010

Book Shopping

Today Christie and I went a-mooching through the charity shops in Erdington and Wylde Green. I was initially looking for holiday items and did pick up a very pretty 50’s inspired Next dress for a fiver. But we were both pleased with our book purchases. While Christie satisfied herself with buying the contents for the British Library, I settled for 6 titles that I feel I should have already read.

There are certain books I have inevitably heard of, classics/cult/must reads etc, but never get around to reading. I think it is about time I put these into a list and do something about actually reading them! I shall think on this for a future post!

So, today I spent £5.65 on books and ended up adding the following to my pile:-

  1. The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles
  2. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  3. The Colour Purple by Alice Walker (HB)
  4. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorn (HB)
  5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  6. Tales of Mystery and Imagination by Edgar Allan Poe (HB)

I also saw a copy of The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo which has been highly recommended by Lauren, but sadly it was in Christie’s hands! She is a much speedier reader than I, so she has promised to lend it when she is done! Excellent stuff.

Any thoughts on the above books? What would you recommend as a classic or cult or general ‘must read’ book? I am eager to add to the list!

Happy Tuesday!

Nxxx

Responses

  1. Great haul!!

    French Lieutenant’s Woman – love it.

    The Colour Purple – bearing in mind that Lauren and I do not share the same taste in books at all (in fact as a rule we run by opposites…) she loaned me this and it is unbelievable. Amazing, heart-wrenching book. Enjoy!

    North & South – I love Gaskell full stop – lovely stuff!

    The rest I have yet to read myself!

    My classics “to read” pile includes a lot you’ve already read – Du Maurier, for example. Branching out into sci fi too – Day of the Triffids and the like.

    You’ve yet to read any Angela Carter haven’t you? I highly recommend Nights at the Circus or my personal fave, Wise Children.

    Oh and Cold Comfort Farm – such a funny book!

    xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

