Posted by: Natalie | March 18, 2010

Holiday Reading Request: Help Needed

As you may know, earlier this week Steve and I booked our summer holiday – VEGAS BABY!!! I am so excited! I have only started breathing properly again not all that long ago! I just can’t wait!

But, I have a favour to ask of you lovely readers. Obviously a holiday which is going to involve some sitting in the sun by a pool needs a good book. Hang on, on the way out I have a seven hour flight, eight hour stop over and then another 5 hour flight. Hmmmmmmm. Return flight . . . ? Yup, that’s not much better! But who cares?! It’s VEGAS BABY!!

But clearly, I am going to need some decent reading material. So, please please help me! Can you recommend any good engaging books – particularly for the flights/stop overs? I would be intrigued to see different people’s take on holiday reading – please be aware though, I am not a big fan of chick-lit! I will also be planning on writing a follow up post on all your wonderful recommendations.

Thank you in advance!

Nxxx

Responses

  1. I’ve just read Zoe Heller’s new book – think called ‘Believers’ – it is quite short and not too heavy (for airport reading) but really interesting about culture/religion clashes in a family. x

    • Ah, ok, that sounds like something I would like! Cool, cheers mitcho!! Nxxx

  2. Hi Nat,

    At the moment I am rereading ‘Valley of the Dolls’ by Jacqueline Susann, and I think if you haven’t read it, it would be really good holiday reading. It’s so engaging, and the topic might work well with the bright lights of Vegas.

    I also don’t have enough good words to say about the Ripley books by Patricia Highsmith. I have the first three in a single volume, ‘The Talented Mister Ripley’, ‘Ripley Underground’ and’Ripley’s Game’ and I read them all in a few days – they are so gripping, and although I had never been much of a fan of that genre I would definitely go back and read more of Highsmith’s work

    Hope this helps!

    • Hi Roisin, thank you so much for the recommendations.

      I didn’t actually realise ‘The Talented Mr Ripley’ was a series!! I definitely think I will be adding that to the pile! Valley of the Dolls too, that’s one I have picked up from the shelves before and waited to find it in the charity shops, but might just go crazy and a new one! Wow, I’m really pushing the boat out this year! Heehee!

      Thank you for reading,

      Nxxx

  3. I just read The Girl With Dragon Tattoo, a brilliant brilliant read! I am going to write a review at some point soon…

    • I saw that in Smith’s last night and was mesmerised by the cover. I know the old saying, but let’s be honest, the cover makes a big difference to choice!!! Can’t wait for your review! Nxxx

  4. Anything by Sally Gardner is up your street – I, Coriander, The Red Necklace, I’m still to read The Silver Blade… she’s a very gripping writer. The Book Thief is supposed to be really good too – another on my list. And knowing your love for a good ghost story, why not give The Little Stranger a go? I’m only about a third of the way in and it’s not strictly “scary” yet, but it is intriguing…

    xxxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

