Posted by: Natalie | March 15, 2010

It’s not spring without some Chocolate Easter Eggs

Large Divine Milk Chocolate Easter Egg With Marc De Champange Truffles Disrobed

Well, I would be excited had I not seen the first Easter confectionery BEFORE christmas! I normally spot the Cadbury’s Cream Eggs on the first of January when I step out to buy that forgotten bottle of New Year’s milk.

But Easter is inevitably becoming the new Christmas, with a vast array of celebration food stuffs and decorations appearing earlier and earlier. Soon the ‘seasonal’ section of our supermarkets will simply have two sections, only vaguely deviating from these two specific holidays with the occasional valentines/mothers’s day/halloween paraphernalia dotted in between.

Not that I am complaining! There’s something sneaky and rebellious about opening that first dark chocolate Lindt egg on the first of January. Similarly there’s something deeply indulgent about eating a christmas pudding with brandy butter in September. But inevitably, by the time the actual occasion arises I have satisfied my hunger for festive treats.

But, this is where Easter differs. By the time Christmas has arrived I have already tasted most, if not all, of the seasonal delights in one way or another. But there is one thing that Easter brings that only gets eaten at Easter. The traditional Easter Egg. It has to be! All the little eggs in their tempting foil wrappers don’t count – they are for impulse buying when you are at the checkout and in need of some sugar injection. But a traditional Easter egg is special.

As a kid I would get loads, having quite a large family. There would be a minimum of 8 full sized Easter Eggs. And not one was to be opened before Easter Sunday, its just not proper! I remember one year I seriously over indulged that Sunday and resulted in a nose bleed! It used to happen to my Grandma too when she ate chocolate, poor woman never knew the true delights! But as an adult I rarely get them – in fact I can’t remember the last time I had my own Easter Egg.

But there is something, even still, special about that specific type of chocolate. The anticipation of being allowed to finally open the plastic boxing, once sunday dinner was out of the way, the shining crinkle of the foil as you peel it away from the bunny impression on the side of the egg. And if you have a really good one, the rattle of the sweets inside before the clunk as you try to separate the two halves. And although you can buy the same chocolate any other day of the year, there is something extra luxurious about that first bite, completing the ceremony with a satisfying snap!

For me, Easter means so many different things, the least of which would be religious, but for me, the eating of the Easter Egg is almost religion itself. A tradition you try to uphold, enjoy and pass on to others around you.

Responses

  1. I’ve given up on getting Dave to buy me a Thornton’s egg – so I’ll just buy one for myself!


Leave a Reply

Categories

