Posted by: Natalie | February 24, 2010

Word of the Day

This is so me . . .

Malapropism

Word Origins:

The meaning of this word is something that I am invariably guilty of; it’s when you get one word confused with another and therefore use the incorrectly! It became a word in English use in 1775, after Sheridan’s book, “The Rivals” in which a character named Mrs Malaprop, made these fundamental mistakes.

Urban Dictionary Definition:

  1. a word mistakenly used in place of a similar sounding word, usually by the former President of the United States
  2. This is when someone abuses the wrong worm so you can’t understudy what they’re crying to play.
  3. A word which purposely replaces another word within a common phrase or addage, with humorous, or ironic intention.

Nat’s Definition:

  • Something that happens when I try to sound intelligent.
  • Something that happens when I obviously haven’t been humiliated recently, allowing others to mock me for my ignorance!
  • A belief in sick sticks. I’m hoping the language boffs out there will get my pathetic joke!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

