Posted by: Natalie | June 3, 2010

Tuesday by David Wiesner – Lesson Ideas

One of my very first posts was about the remarkable David Weisner book, Tuesday (Tuesday on a Tuesday). Since then, on a daily basis, I have been inundated with searches from the World Wide Web – teachers eagerly searching for lesson plans surrounding this wonderful book. So I thought I would be somewhere near useful and produce a post that give these hard working individuals some ideas at the very least! I am sure, if anyone so required, I could write actual plans and resources – for a small fee!

This is one of the things I sorely miss about the classroom actually, I loved developing units of work, particularly for literacy. My favourite still was a CSI type unit of work for report writing in Year 5. I set up a crime board with witness statements, photos, clues etc (like a real murder mystery), but hid it from view. On the pretence of doing performance poetry I took my class to the hall where an awful ‘crime’ took place! Children had to take notes and find clues and on returning to the classroom, my wonderful assistant had unveiled the crime board which contained most of the information they needed to solve the crime. A week or so then followed, solving using reading skills(!!) and then compiling a report – allowing the children to actually interview suspects along the way! It was brilliant fun and produced some great work!

Anyhow, I have already digressed. I am predominantly a KS2 teacher (ages 7-11 for anyone non UK) but I will also try and use my limited knowledge of EYFS and KS1 (4-7) to give some pointers. You may find that there are potential crossovers that could be ramped up and diluted depending on your class and your age range. I will also try and suggest cross curricular links for other subjects. I hope you find something useful!

EYFS & KS1 Suggestions (Ages 4-7)

Word and Sentence Ideas:

  • Using adjectives & developing description – writing sentences or paragraphs related to one of the images.
  • Using story language such as ‘suddenly’.
  • Using adverbs.
  • Writing speech – provide characters with speech bubbles which can then be re-written with punctuation.
  • Vocab development – finding new words to say ‘flying’ etc.

Unit / Topic Ideas:

  • Fits nicely with life cycle topics – most Nursery and Reception classes will have frog spawn and tadpoles at some point, so this picture book is brilliant.
  • Understanding story structure – plan out the story or for the older / more able, write a new version based on the flying pigs.
  • Writing a recount or a report (probably year 2?) but could also be used as a stimulus for poetry and free writing (Big Write).

KS2 Suggestions (Ages 7-9)

Word and Sentence Ideas:

  • Using adjectives and adverbs effectively.
  • Developing connective use – especially good book for developing complex sentences.
  • Action sentences (list of three) for example – ‘The frogs swooped through the garden, dashed under the washing line and vanished from view.’
  • Vocabulary development – looking up ‘technical language’ (related to frogs and flying) and using┬áthesauruses to find multiple methods of describing movement etc.
  • Perfecting speech punctuation – providing characters with dialogue – use final pages of Tuesday to write conversations.
  • Can be used for practising most elements of punctuation, especially commas if writing lists or complex sentences.

Topic/Unit work:

  • Story structure – planning and writing a story. Particular focus could be on beginnings and endings.
  • Story Structure – re-write Tuesday as the pigs story or another animal that learns to fly.
  • Newspaper reports / Police reports- particularly for gleaning quotes from bystanders/ witnesses.
  • Explanation texts/ instructions – ‘How to make a frog fly’ for example.
  • Non chronological report – use as a stimulus for writing about frogs?
  • Narrative poetry – write the story in verse.
  • Play Scripts – writing the police interview / report at the end of the book as a play script than can be performed.
  • Interviews.

Cross-Curricular

  • Science – life cycles.
  • Art – mixing shades of blue, perspective, life drawing, artist research, illustrating
  • ICT - animation, internet research on frogs, powerpoints etc
  • DT – moving monsters, moving toys.

I am sure there are many, many more wide and varied ideas, but these are just some that come to mind. I will undoubtedly add to these lists if/when further inspiration comes to me!

Please, please let me know if you find this useful and I shall endeavour to provide more posts in a similar guise. Also, if you are interested in me developing detailed plans including full objectives and outcomes, feel free to get in touch via the Contact page!

Responses

  1. […] Tuesday by David Wiesner – Lesson Ideas June 2010 3 […]

  2. Hi there, this sounds amazing! I am about to do Tuesday for this sort of CSI work. Do you have any plans I could use to start from. I am struggling with juggling fun AND maintaining learning! My email is fneave@cantab.net

    • Hi,

      Thanks for the comment! I don’t have any written plans as such – what skills are you wanting to teach? Age group?

      Nat x


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

